Adding/Removing Users & Changing Access Levels

The “User Accounts & Access” menu lets you add users to your LawLytics account. There are a number of reasons why you may want to add more users to your LawLytics account: adding users to your account allows you to delegate work to other attorneys or staff, gives ghostwriters the appropriate access to create new content for your website, lets you add attorney profiles to your website(s), and permits others in your firm to receive form submissions from your website.

Adding a New User

To add a new user to your LawLytics account, navigate to the menu in the top right-hand corner of the LawLytics control panel. From the drop-down menu that appears, select "Users & Access."

Next, click on the green "New" button.

You can now enter the new user’s information into the provided form. The new user’s name and email address are required. Adding more information is optional.

Is this user an attorney?

If the new user is an attorney, check the provided "Attorney" box. If the new user is not an attorney, leave this box unchecked. Attorney users can publish blog posts in their own name. They also have an optional attorney profile on your firm’s website, and a profile on the LawLytics Network.

What are user permissions? 

LawLytics allows you to provide different permission levels for each of your account users to ensure that each user has the appropriate level of access to pages and publishing within your account. For example, you may want to give a fellow attorney user complete access to all pages on your site -- giving them the ability to freely make changes and publish new content. However, you may want to provide limited access to a summer associate who is ghostwriting blog posts for your law firm. (More on ghostwriting below.)

How do I change permissions for a user?

To change permissions for a user, navigate to the Users & Access Menu and, from the menu on the left, select the user whose permissions you'd like to change.
Scroll to the Permissions menu, where you'll be able to select the level of access each user has in a variety of areas.
  • By selecting "No Access", the user can neither access the selected area nor make edits.
  • By selecting "Contributor", the user can only see and edit items they have created. 
  • By selecting "Admin", a user is able to see and edit all material for which they are given "Admin" access.
Example: An attorney may want to give an intern or ghostwriter "Contributor" access to blog posts and social media but "No Access" to other areas of your website. In the below image, this intern has access to pages, blog posts, and social media, but no access to other areas of the website.

How do I edit an account user's information?

You can edit user settings, permissions, and personal contact information by selecting a name from the left panel in the "Users & Access" control panel. To save changes, click the green "Update User" button.

Note: Changing a user's email address will affect their ability to log in and receive submitted forms.

How do I delete an account user?

To remove a user, click the "Delete" button located below their profile information. The system will prompt you to complete this action.
Note: When a user is deleted, any reference to the user is removed. For example, blog posts authored by a deleted user will become authored by “Unknown.” You cannot reverse the action of deleting a user.

What is the ghostwriting feature? 

LawLytics offers a ghostwriting feature that allows you to give other users in your account the ability to author and/or publish blog posts on your behalf or on the behalf of specific attorneys in your firm. You can permit individual users to do this within the Users & Access menu.

How do I use the ghostwriting feature?

To give an account user ghostwriting permissions, edit the user by selecting their name from the Users & Access menu. Scroll to the “Ghostwrites For” section below "Permissions."
Once you’ve chosen who can ghostwrite for whom, select the level of permissions they have for ghostwriting. By default, “Requires approval before publishing” is checked. This means that when a user creates a blog post on your behalf, you must approve it prior to publication. Unchecking the box means the user may publish blog posts as you without your approval.
If you have any questions about adding or removing users -- or about access levels -- please submit a support ticket to [email protected] or call us at (800) 713-0161 during our regular business hours.